Sustainable, environmentally-friendly sealant for sheet pile interlock

Steelant® is made from natural components

 

Wood oil tar has been used since the ancient times and forms the basis of Steelant®. In fact, tar was even mentioned in the Old Testament as the sealant used to make Noah’s ark. Wood oil tar is a natural substance obtained from renewable raw materials.

 

Steelant® is sustainable and does not harm the environment. It contains natural polymers and combines the benefits of various natural materials. As such, its excellent properties in terms of elasticity, viscosity and temperature resistance mean that it is well-suited for use as an interlock sealant.

 

The properties of Steelant® can only achieve their full potential when the product is used properly. It is imperative that overheating is avoided, as this can destroy the natural materials. Steelant® maintains its viscoelasticity at grouting temperatures, however, flowing easily and taking on a new shape when cooling: the interior of the Larssen interlock, for example. After a short cooling period, Steelant® has elastic properties and this new form can be reversed.

 

These natural properties can be perfectly replicated:

For example, the surface of Steelant® in the Larssen interlock can be heated through generating friction, like with a vibratory pile driver, and this softens the product. A film of lubricant will form across the surface, making it much easier to insert the new sheet pile. After Steelant® has been applied and has cooled, it becomes elastic once again.

Steelant® does not harm the environment

 

Steelant® used to be available under the Wadit® brand name and has been subjected to extensive testing. The Landesgewerbeanstalt Bayern (LGA, Bavarian State Trade Institute), Institute for Environmental Geology and Contaminated Areas, Tyllstrasse 2, 90431, Nuremberg, has confirmed that the product is environmentally-friendly in their report:

“The reports issued by the LGA conclude that the sealant can be used in sheet pile interlocks in ground and surface areas without restriction. As such, when used properly, there is no danger of any adverse

effects arising when used in the vicinity of drinking water production facilities.”

 

 

 

Steelant® can withstand 5-bar water pressure

 

During laboratory testing, Steelant® kept its sealing properties on every sheet pile interlock tested

(Larssen, Hoesch, Ball & Socket) when subjected to water pressure of up to 5 bars. There were no leakages. Nevertheless, in practice, we recommend planning for lower permeability as, according to

experience, it is not possible to anticipate all factors involved in the building process. When making calculations according to Annex E of EN 12063, we recommend setting the inverse value for the interlock seepage resistance at ρ = 2.0 x 10-9 m/s. Steelant® is comparable to plastic sealants when it comes to the impermeability it can attain, yet it is both sustainable and environmentally-friendly. Steelant® is not an expanding sealant and keeps its shape even if the water level changes.

 

 

 

Steelant® maintains a stable temperature and retains its elastic properties in the long term

 

Steelant® can be worked to 0 °C. Therefore, it is also sufficiently elastic even at lower depths. Ground water temperatures lie at between 5 - 7 °C throughout the whole year. The rubber in Steelant® prevents the product from becoming brittle like glass and ensures reversibility if any deformations or sheet pile rotations take place due to the rubber-like properties and extreme adhesive effects. Steelant® also remains stable and keeps its shape within the interlock in high outdoor temperatures of up to 50 °C and does not run out (flash point > 200 °C in accordance with DIN 53213, boiling point > 350 °C).

 

 

 

Steelant® is universal

 

Steelant® is compatible with all well-known piling tools and processes. There are no known limitations with impact pile drivers, vibration or press-in procedures.

 

Tip:

  • If impermeability is not required and only a film of lubricant should be generated in the sheet pile   interlock, a small amount of Steelant® in the interlock chamber will suffice. In this way, Steelant® will   also prevent the covered surface from corroding any further. This is particularly suited to sheet pile   multi-use. Steelant® simply remains in the interlock.

 

 

 

Steelant® is easy to use

 

Preparation:

The interlock strip should be clean, dry and free from grease so that the Steelant® can stick to the steel. Mill scale or other mill residue (shavings, loose rust, other dirt) should also be removed from the sheet pile interlock.

 

Tips:

  • The most effective way of cleaning the interlocks of new sheet piles is to use a blowtorch under high   flame pressure. Ideally the flame should be angled at approx. 30° to the interlock.
  • Alternatively, rotating brushes can also be used.
  • If the outdoor temperature lies below 0 °C, steel components must be pre-heated.
  • The polyethylene bags (used to package Steelant®) can also be melted.

 

Steelant® should be heated to a maximum of 170 °C in a boiler controlled via thermostat and subject to indirect heat. It should be constantly stirred in the process. This will prevent the product from intermittently overheating and the natural materials from being destroyed. Steelant® that has been overheated should not be used.

 

Personal protective equipment should be used as a matter of course (protective clothing, safety goggles with side guards, gloves).

 

Tip:

  • Sheet piles with an interlock pre-filled with Steelant® are installed first. If the interlock opening at the base of the sheet pile is closed off with a screw or small plate, this will largely avoid any small pieces of ground from getting in. The next sheet pile interlock to be installed is best enclosed with Steelant® if the tips of the interlock have been slightly chamfered around 10 cm and saw burrs have been removed. The middle interlock of double piles should be set in the interlock gap from the outside, on the side subject to stress.

 

 

 

Filling and dosing:

The filling process for heated sealing material often takes place with an open pouring can.

We recommend a safe, protected machine filling process using a heated hose. In this way, the casting temperature is kept between 130 °C and 160 °C all the way to the outlet nozzle, occupational safety levels are significantly improved and the product flows easily during the filling process. Material losses are also minimised thanks to the controlled process (start/stop).

Sheet pile interlocks are usually filled to 50 %. Approximately 250 g of product is used per metre of sheet pile interlock.

 

Waiting time:

Steelant® cools down quickly and the sheet pile is usually ready to install 15 - 30 minutes after filling.

 

Scope of delivery and storage:

Pallets are delivered with 36 x 25 kg = 900 kg in polyethylene bags reinforced with cardboard.

There are no restrictions on the storing time for Steelant® when kept in an enclosed space.

Learn more ...

Steelant® is harmless and is not classified as a hazardous material by

transport regulations

 

In accordance with Regulation (EC) No. 1272/2008, Steelant® is not classified as a hazardous material or dangerous compound. It is not soluble in water, self-igniting, explosive, toxic or aquatic, nor does it pose acute or long-term risks. Steelant® may release unpleasant odours and gases only if used improperly and overheated.

Valid: April 2020. Copyright by SteelWall ISH GmbH.

Steelant® and Wadit® are registered trademarks of SteelWall ISH GmbH.

Die nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche

Abdichtung für Spundbohlenschlösser

Steelant® besteht aus natürlichen Komponenten

 

Basis für Steelant® ist ein seit der Antike bekanntes Holzölpech. Im Alten Testament wurde bereits die Abdichtung der Arche Noah mit Pech beschrieben. Holzölpech ist ein natürlicher Stoff, der aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen gewonnen wird.

 

Steelant® ist nachhaltig und ökologisch unbedenklich. Es beinhaltet natürliche Polymere und kombiniert die Vorteile verschiedener Naturmaterialien. So werden die Eigenschaften zur Anwendung als Schlossdichtungsmittel in den Bereichen Elastizität, Viskosität und Temperaturbeständigkeit positiv eingestellt.

 

Bei Vergusstemperatur (130 bis 160 °C) ist Steelant® viskoelastisch, also fließfähig, und nimmt beim Abkühlen eine neue Form an. Zum Beispiel vorgegeben durch den Innenraum des Larssenschlosses. Nach kurzzeitiger Abkühlung verhält sich Steelant® elastisch und ist reversibel in der neuen Form.

Diese natürlichen Eigenschaften sind durchaus reproduzierbar: Man kann beispielsweise durch Reibung, wie sie eine Vibratorramme erzeugt, die Oberfläche von Steelant® im Larssenschloss erhitzen und dadurch erweichen. Es bildet sich ein Schmier- oder Gleitfilm auf der Oberfläche, der das Einbringen der neu eingefädelten Spundbohle wesentlich erleichtert. Nach Fertigstellung und Abkühlung ist Steelant® wieder elastisch.

Steelant® ist unbedenklich für die Umwelt

 

Steelant® war in der Vergangenheit unter dem Markennamen Wadit® erhältlich und ist umfangreich getestet worden.

So bescheinigt die Landesgewerbeanstalt Bayern (LGA), Institut für Umweltgeologie und Altlasten, Tyllstrasse 2, 90431 Nürnberg, in ihrem Gutachten die Umweltfreundlichkeit:

 

„Die Gutachten der LGA kommen zu dem Schluss, dass die Dichtmasse in Spundwandschlössern im Grund- und Oberflächenbereich ohne Einschränkungen verwendet werden kann. Bei bestimmungsgemäßem Gebrauch besteht daher auch keine Besorgnis einer schädlichen Auswirkung beim Einsatz im Einzugsbereich von Trinkwassergewinnungsanlagen.“

 

 

 

Steelant® widersteht 5 Bar Wasserdruck

 

Steelant® hat im Laborversuch bis zu 5 Bar Wasserdruck Spundwandschlösser (Larssen, Hoesch, Ball & Socket) zuverlässig und zu 100% gedichtet. Leckagen sind nicht aufgetreten. Dennoch empfehlen wir für die Baupraxis eine geringe Durchlässigkeit einzuplanen, da erfahrungsgemäß nicht alle auftretenden Bauumstände vorhergesehen werden können. Für Berechnungen nach EN 12063, Anhang E, empfehlen wir den Kehrwert der Schlosssickerwiderstände mit ρ = 2,0 x 10-9 m/s einzusetzen. Steelant® ist in der erzielbaren Dichtigkeit mit Kunststoffdichtungen vergleichbar, jedoch nachhaltig und umweltfreundlich. Steelant® ist keine Quelldichtung und bleibt formstabil, auch wenn der Wasserstand sich verändern sollte.

 

 

 

Steelant® ist temperaturstabil und dauerhaft elastisch

 

Steelant® kann bis 0 °C verarbeitet werden. Deshalb ist ausreichende Elastizität auch in größerer Tiefe vorhanden. Die Grundwassertemperaturen liegen ganzjährig bei etwa 5 - 7 °C.  Der Kautschukanteil in Steelant® verhindert eine glasartige Versprödung und sichert die Reversibilität bei Verformungen oder Drehbewegungen der Spundbohlen durch die gummiähnlichen Eigenschaften und extreme Klebwirkung. Steelant® ist ebenfalls bei hohen Außentemperaturen bis zu 50 °C stabil und formbeständig im Schloss geblieben und nicht ausgelaufen (Flammpunkt > 200 °C nach DIN 53213, Siedepunkt > 350 °C).

 

 

 

Steelant® ist universell einsetzbar

 

Steelant® kann mit allen bekannten Rammgeräten und –verfahren eingesetzt werden. Einschränkungen von schlagendem Rammen, Vibration oder Einpressen sind nicht bekannt.

 

Praxistipp:

  • Falls keine Dichtigkeit gefordert ist und nur ein Gleit-/Schmierfilm im Spundbohlenschloss erzeugt   werden soll, genügt eine geringe Menge von Steelant® in der Schlosskammer. Steelant® verhindert   damit auch die weitere Korrosion der bedeckten Fläche. Besonders ist dies für eine Mehrfachnutzung   von Spundbohlen geeignet. Steelant® verbleibt dabei einfach im Schloss.

 

 

 

Steelant® ist einfach anzuwenden

 

Arbeitsvorbereitung:

Die Schlossleisten müssen sauber, trocken und fettfrei sein, um die Haftung von Steelant® am Stahl zu ermöglichen. Walzhaut oder sonstige Walzreste (Späne, loser Rost, andere Verunreinigungen) dürfen sich ebenfalls nicht mehr im Spundbohlenschloss befinden.

 

Praxistipps:

  • Die effektivste Reinigung der Schlösser neuer Spundbohlen geschieht mit einem Schweißbrenner   unter hohem Flammdruck. Der Winkel der Flamme zum Schloss ist idealerweise ca. 30°. Alternativ ist der Einsatz von rotierenden Bürsten ebenfalls möglich.
  • Bei Außentemperaturen unter 0 °C müssen die Stahlteile vorgewärmt werden.
  • Polyethylensäcke (in denen Steelant® verpackt ist) können mit aufgeschmolzen werden.

Die Erwärmung von Steelant® bis zu maximal 170 °C soll in einem indirekt beheizten und

thermostatgeregelten Kocher unter permanentem Rühren erfolgen. Dies dient zur Vermeidung von punktuellen Überhitzungen und der Zerstörung der Naturmaterialien. Überhitztes Steelant® darf nicht mehr verwendet werden.

 

Persönliche Arbeitsschutzausrüstung sollte selbstverständlich sein (Schutzkleidung, Schutzbrille mit Seitenschutz, Handschuhe).

 

Praxistipp:

  • Spundbohlen mit Steelant® werden mit dem verfüllten Schloss vorauseilend eingebaut. Wenn die   Schlossöffnung am Spundbohlenfuß mit einer Schraube oder einem kleinen Stück Blech verschlossen   wird, kann das Eindringen von Bodenteilchen weitgehend vermieden werden. Das folgend einzufädelnde Spundbohlenschloss wird bestmöglich von Steelant® umschlossen, wenn die Schlossspitze ca. 10 cm leicht angefast und Sägegrate beseitigt werden. Angelieferte Doppelbohlen werden im Schlossspalt des Mittelschlosses auf der Belastungsseite von außen mit Steelant®   vergossen.

Mehr über Füllhöhen und Anordnungen erfahren Sie hier ...

Einfüllen und Dosierung:

Häufig wird das erhitzte Dichtungsmaterial mit der offenen Gießkanne eingefüllt. Wir empfehlen das sichere und geschützte maschinelle Verfüllen mit beheiztem Schlauch. So wird die Vergießtemperatur zwischen 130 °C - 160 °C bis zur Austrittsdüse konserviert und die Fließfähigkeit während des Einfüllens sowie die Arbeitssicherheit erheblich verbessert. Materialverluste werden durch das kontrollierte Einfüllen (Start/Stop) gleichzeitig minimiert.

Die Spundbohlenschlösser werden in der Regel zu 50 % gefüllt. Der Verbrauch liegt bei ungefähr 250 g je laufenden Meter Spundbohlenschloss.

 

Wartezeit:

Steelant® kühlt sehr schnell ab und die Spundbohle ist in der Regel 15 - 30 Minuten nach dem Einfüllen einbaufähig.

 

Liefergröße und Lagerung:

Paletten werden mit 36 x 25 kg = 900 kg in Polyethylensäcken, kartoniert, geliefert.

Steelant® kann in geschlossenen Räumen unbegrenzt gelagert werden.

Steelant® ist ungefährlich und kein Gefahrgut im Sinne der Transportvorschriften

 

Steelant® ist nach der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1272/2008 kein gefährlicher Stoff oder gefährliches Gemisch. Es ist nicht wasserlöslich, nicht selbstentzündlich, nicht explosiv, nicht toxisch, nicht akut oder langfristig gefährdend. Nur bei unsachgemäßem Umgang mit Steelant® können durch Überhitzung unangenehme Gerüche und Gase freigesetzt werden.

 

 

Stand: 15. April 2020. Copyright by SteelWall ISH GmbH.